~ my first video project & some thoughts on inspiration ~

I mentioned a while ago that I was working on a behind-the-scenes video for my business, and I finished it up last week ~ I’m so excited to share it with you!

Putting this wee video together was so exciting for me.  It was something I’d been wanting to do for a long time, but I had never tried anything like it.  I hadn’t really even played around with the video function on my camera (for shame! I know.)

I loved the whole process, from  finding music, to creating a shot list/story board for the whole thing, to shooting it (although wearing both portrait-photographer and video-photographer/director/producer ‘hats’ on the shoot day was challenging!) The planning/editing-to-music factor really spoke to the dance teacher I used to be – it was almost like putting together a little dance combo.

During the few days before the shoot, while I was brainstorming and putting the project together, I felt like I was uber-energized.  I didn’t feel like drinking coffee (shocking! but I was already buzzing) and I felt like I didn’t even need sleep. It was surprising how phyiscally effected I felt by just doing something I was excited about.  Those few days were such a great reminder about the importance of actively cultivating inspiring projects in one’s life. It’s so easy to get caught up in the everyday stuff, and the everyday stuff is awesome, but an extra jolt of out-of-the-ordinary-awesome every now and then is highly recommended.

I hope you like watching this little story, and I would love it if you’d share it with anyone else you think might enjoy it 🙂

Thanks all! xo

~~

The story of an athlete, a girl-next-door, a beauty. Follow Janelle through her day as she has a make-over and portrait session at Alexis McKeown Portrait in Canmore, AB, Canada.  

(Big thanks to our girl Janelle, for letting me share this story with the interwebz, and to the lovely Michaela Howie, who did the hair and make-up and helped me accomplish this shoot!)

One thought on “~ my first video project & some thoughts on inspiration ~

Leave a Reply

