~ meet michaela ~

If you’ve been following along with me on instagram lately, you’ll already know that I have very recently opened a new studio in Canmore, AB.  This is a super-exciting phase for me, and I will definitely be sharing more about the studio itself on the blog very soon, but today I wanted to introduce you to a new friend/co-collaborator/P.I.C, Michaela Howie.

ff6f2-6a0120a535721a970c019aff7aa1e8970c-piAbove: Michaela, at work in the new Canmore studio.

Michaela will be taking care of the make-up and hair for all of my clients in the new space, and I’m so glad to be working with her.  She is a beautiful young woman, inside and out, and her energy is warm and inspiring. (A huge thank-you to Janice from one of my fave studios, Hanson School of Dance, for introducing us!!)

After retiring, last year, from competing as a cross-country skier at the national level, Michaela tells me she was feeling pretty burned out. She realized she’d really been neglecting her creative side, and so she made a decision to nurture that side.  Taking an intensive course in Calgary at Artist Within was the first major step toward her new creative career as a make-up artist.  The first time we worked together was a fun little “test shoot” we did in July, where she had a few of her girlfriends come and be models-for-a-day.  These girls are some of the top athletes in the country; it was so cool to meet them, to hear their stories, and to share a giggly, girlie day with them.

d770d-6a0120a535721a970c019aff7a8b68970c-pi

Above: Emily, Zoe & Heidi

One of the girls I met that day, Janelle, came back this past weekend to model for us again; she’ll be featured in my first behind-the-scenes video (coming soon!) This is one of the stunning looks Michaela created for the video shoot….

1da9c-6a0120a535721a970c019aff7a8d55970c-pi

It’s been so fun for me to get to know Michaela over the past couple of months.  Along with becoming a make-up artist, she’s also started a beautiful blog ~ ashressaday ~ where her and a friend post about beauty, fashion, food, and craft-y projects.  She’s an adventurer and an avid windsurfer, mountain climber, yogi, and appreciator of fine tea & coffee. She’s artistic, delightfully bubbly, and free-spirited, and I am very excited to watch her grow as an artist and as a business woman.

85454-6a0120a535721a970c019aff7a78a8970b-piJust a couple o’ “stand-here-so-I-can-test-the-light-please” shots that I’ve had a wee bit of fun with.

Michaela told me over coffee this afternoon that acknowledging her creative side, and truly embracing make-up as an art form has majorly contributed to her overall happiness and her feeling of living an authentic life… I love hearing stuff like that.

I think we’re going to have tons of fun together 🙂

94d9f-6a0120a535721a970c019aff7a7a3d970c-pi

One thought on “~ meet michaela ~

Leave a Reply

