~ happy 2013 ~

Hello & Happy New Year Friends!

I hope each and every one of you had a lovely, relaxing and refreshing holiday season and that 2013 has started out beautifully!

My little photography business and I had a very eventful 2012 and although I don’t want to bombard you with every detail, I wanted to share a couple of things with you πŸ™‚

The first is that, in fulfilling a life-long dream of Conor’s, (Conor, whom many of you have met, is my lovely husband/assistant/second shooter/lighting designer/support network/chef) we’ve moved to the mountains! Β I am now operating out of a cozy home office in Canmore, AB and I feel so blessed every day when I see the immense beauty that surrounds me here. Β I travel to & from Edmonton often, since so many of you – my valued clients and amazing friends – are there, and I hope that if any of you are ever in the Canmore/Banff area, you will let me know!

33e9a-6a0120a535721a970c017d3f98f11b970c-piΒ  Β I’m certainly no landscape photog, but I can’t get enough of instagramming the mountains πŸ˜‰

The second bit of news is that I have introduced a new ‘arm’ to my business which I am super excited about. Β Dance photography is my first love, and will of course remain the cornerstone of my business, but I have started to take on non-dance portraiture as well. Β I’ve always been so inspired by each new face and personality that I meet (not to mention by the stunning portrait work in the stacks and stacks of Vanity Fair & Vogue magazines I seem to collect year after year!) and working as a portrait artist has been a dream of mine since I got my first camera as a young teen.

The portrait work I’m doing is mainly with women of all ages and walks of life – of course the boys are always welcome as well, though πŸ˜› Β My shoots are a blast – we get to have fun with hair and make-up, play dress-up, and then I have the honour of creating beautiful images to go along with this experience, images that will remind each of the women I work with that she is a true beauty. Β (I guess you can see why I am so excited about this new addition to my business, hey?)

d822c-6a0120a535721a970c017c356a1f1a970b-pi

I am feeling very grateful that I get to meet new people all the time, I get to ‘play’ in the studio with amazing young dancers, and I get to do what I love. Β Thank-you so much for being an important part of what makes this possible! Β I appreciate all of your support so sincerely.

I’d love to hear about how your 2012 was, or even better, about what your wishes are for 2013! Drop me a line here, or through alexismckeown.com (after you check out my new portrait work!!) Β And if you are into Facebook, maybe we could even be friends there πŸ˜›

Wishing you much love, time and adventure in the coming year…

~Alexis

Leave a Reply

